The Old Mill Museum, Lower Slaughter


Discover the fascinating history of bread making and the internal workings of a centuries-old mill in one of the Cotswolds' most picturesque villages.

Visitors to one of the most picturesque villages in the Cotswolds can learn about the fascinating history of bread making and the internal workings of this centuries-old mill.

A mill is recorded in the Doomsday Book of 1086 as being on the site of The Old Mill which by the 14th Century had begun to be known as Slaughter Mill.

Between the First World War and 1958, flour was produced at the Old Mill by Morris Wilkins. After his death in 1958, the Collett family ran a bakery business at The Mill, turning part of the Mill House into a local Post Office and Shop, before they moved to larger premises in Upper Slaughter in 1992.

The Old Mill re-opened its doors to the public in 1995. By removing the floorboards of the milling room visitors can see the two sets of stones which were used for both grist milling and flour milling and study the array of milling machinery.

There is also a gift and craft shop at The Old Mill which is open seven days a week from March 1 to October 31 from 10am-6pm and from November 1 to February 28 from 10am to dark. Admission is £2.50 for adults and £1 for children.

More Information


The Old Mill, Mill Lane, Lower Slaughter, Gloucestershire, GL54 2HX


01451 822127


© Loving The Cotswolds. 2019.